Uncategorized

Let Him In

I am a daughter of God.

I am funny. (or at least, I am funny to me).

I am a Texan.

I am a lover of grilled cheese sandwiches and salad with too much ranch dressing.

I am a communication student at BYU-I.

I am proudly a returned missionary from the Washington Everett Mission.

I am a big sister, a friend, someone’s daughter, someone’s love. I am a lot of things, but

I am not my depression.

Depression is an ugly word, and something that is misunderstood by people who don’t get it, but

I am not what they think of me or my challenges.

I am a fighter.

I am a dreamer and a do-er.

I am not a failure because of the dreams that have been taken from me by depression.

I am a winner because I got a chance to live my dream before it took it.

Every morning when I get out of bed, I am a defeater of enemies that appear much larger than I.

I am a conqueror.

I am a daughter of my Heavenly Father.

I am loved by Him, by His Son, Jesus Christ, by my family, by my true friends.

That is where I get my strength to be a fighter and to be a conqueror of my own personal demons.

I recently read something that said that depression is like having your own, personal door in hell, with your name engraved on the door, and no hope for a knight in shining armor to save you.

But that is not true.

Christ has the key and because of that,

I am free.

I am given the strength to stand boldly, dressed in thick steel armor, with my silver sword pointed at my demon. I am given to strength to get up, walk out, and be myself again.

It isn’t easy, but with Christ it is possible.

Whatever challenge you are facing, whether it be physical illness, mental illness, a death of a loved one, a crazy schedule or whatever it may be,

Let Him In.

 

 

Leave a Reply

